7 On iOS 7: Awesome Tips for Using The Messages App

The new Messages app in iOS 7 is visually different, but at the same time incredibly familiar. Apple has included a number of new features that might not be apparent, especially as your gazing at the new simple and clean interface. So what’s new and are there any hidden gems in the Messages app in iOS 7? Read on for this installment of 7 on iOS 7, a look at 7 Awesome Tips for Messages on iOS 7.

Messages iOS 7 tips

  1. Within Messages, tap on ‘Contacts‘ at the top right. This has replaced ‘Edit‘. When you do, you’ll be able to call or FaceTime with that persons. Pressing the ‘i‘ will bring up their Contact information.
    Contact info
  2. Remember that ‘Edit‘ button that went missing? So how are we going to delete text messages? No worries. Tap and hold on a message. A pop-up will display and you’ll want to select ‘More’. The message you originally selected will have a checkbox next to it. You should also see circles next to each text message that you can select. Tap on the trash can to delete your messages. There is also an arrow that creates a new message with the texts you’ve selected. If you want to share a group of messages, you can select them, select share and then add the new recipient.
    Delete messages
  3. iMessage can be confusing. Are you sending text messages or iMessages? If the message is green, that’s a regular SMS/text message, so carrier rates will apply. If it is blue, you just sent an iMessage, so it gets sent using your data plan or WiFi. iMessages can be sent free between iOS devices and Macs. So just remember, that blue is beautiful, because it’s free. Green is SMS because it will cost you money (assuming you don’t have an unlimited texting plan).
  4. If you are looking for the time when a message was sent or received, just swipe left from within a message thread. A date stamp will appear to the right.
    Time stamp messages
  5. Apple’s iTunes Radio allows you to create custom radio stations based on your library, genre and more. Did you create a great radio station? Now you can share those radio stations using Messages. Tap on the info icon in that appears in iTunes Radio playback. Select Share Station and tap on Messages. If the person has iOS 7, they’ll be able to click on the link to start listening to your station.
    Share iTunes Radio Station
  6. You can block someone from sending texts to your iPhone. Just go to Settings > Messages > Blocked and select ‘Add New’. Select the Contact which should be blocked and you won’t receive SMS/text or iMessages from that person.
    Blocked text message iOS 7

iOS 7 has ushered in some major changes to the look and feel. They’ve managed to make wholesale changes to the user interface, while keeping many of the familiar way of doing things. At the same time, Messages offers some great new features like sharing iTunes Radio playlists and easy text message blocking. Do you have a tip for users not mentioned? Please use the comments section or our iOS 7 forums to share with our community.

Written By

Christopher Meinck is the Founder and Editorial Director at everythingiCafe. You can also find him co-hosting on everythingiCafe :the show. His smartphone obsession started with the Handspring Treo 180. While the phones have changed, the obsession continues. You can find him on Google+ and Twitter.

Comments

  1. Mike says

    Can you explain in more detail how to get the group message to function? I’m able to select the group, to choose an individual contact. But, not able to select the entire group to send the message to.

    • says

      Unfortunately, you are correct. You cannot select a group. It only allows to select a contact from within the group. Damn, now I’m down to six. Need to add a new tip!

      Thanks for your comment! Appreciate it.

      • RBNetEngr says

        If you send an iMessage to a group of people, the phone will retain that group of names as a possible recipient for future messages. So, if you had previously sent a message to ‘Manny, Moe, Jack’, and later on you want to send a message to the group, if you start typing the name of one of the group members (‘Manny’), one of the available contacts to receive the message will be the group of Manny, Moe, and Jack.

    • says

      No, unfortunately not. If you delete an iMessage on one device, there is no syncing process that would delete from another iOS device. Just to be sure, I did test it, but the deleted message appeared on a second iPhone.

      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply