Everything iPhone iPhone Accessory Store iPhone news iPhone accessory reviews iPhone forums


Go Back   iPhone 3G | iPod touch Forums > Apple iPhone > General Discussion

Notices

iPhone versions available: Enhanced | Light

iPhone Social

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2007, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Iphone for $300 brand new?

Ok I am interested in buying an iphone, and I am trying to find a good deal on one. I found this website called electroforless.com who is selling brand new 8gb iphones for $300 and the 4gb for $250. The site seems ligitimate. I sent them an email and they responded saying their phones were brand new and unlocked. Does anyone have any experience with this site, because I sure dont want to get ripped off. Any help would be appreciated.
Aposey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Youngbinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 5,064
Thanks: 31
Thanked 60 Times in 58 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Youngbinks
Default

If it seems too good to be true, then most of the time it is. I'm not saying this company isn't legit, but I would expect a brand new, unlocked (which is a bit of an oxymoron, considering the box would have to be opened to unlock the iPhone, thus it's not technically brand new) to sell for over $400, considering that's what a regular 8GB would cost.
Youngbinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Liv
 
Liv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nomadic tendencies between Texas and Tennessee
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Liv Send a message via Yahoo to Liv
Default

Usually unlocked ones go for higher than $500.00 - at least all the ones I have seen (when I happen to be paying attention)

I have no clue how they were able to sell them for that cheap.
Liv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Me either. I contacted them and they said the reason their prices were so low was because they focus on the quantity that they sell and not on the price they sell them for. The site seems legit but I dont know it is awfully cheap.
Aposey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
macgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,176
Thanks: 17
Thanked 44 Times in 33 Posts
Send a message via AIM to macgirl
Default

i vote for not-legit. looking at their site, the grammar and punctuation is off (which usually means the site content was not created by professional marketing folks - and no professionally-edited content is more likely to mean scam). and someone was asking the same thing you were on yahoo's ask site - check out the responses they got here...

that price is definitely too good to be true.

EDIT: here's someone who was scammed by them...
__________________
www.macgirl.net
Incase Slider for 3G iPhone and Ultimate Buds UB5 reviews just posted!

Last edited by macgirl; 11-15-2007 at 09:50 PM.
macgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,916
Thanks: 25
Thanked 36 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Hawk
Default

Did a quick google search for reviews on this company. Not good.

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Electronics4less
Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 09:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Lincoln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 5,795
Thanks: 37
Thanked 156 Times in 122 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Lincoln
Default

I've heard somewhere - here, another forum, I don't know - that this site was big on scamming. Most unlocked phone do go for at least $500 - $300 is a bit too low for my taste.
Lincoln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 09:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canmore CANADA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

SCAM SCAM SCAM... Any company that only accept Western Union is very suspicious. Stay away from them like the plague!!
jcit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Liv
 
Liv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nomadic tendencies between Texas and Tennessee
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Liv Send a message via Yahoo to Liv
Default

Phew, I am glad you asked here for some input. They definitely are scammers. Lots of people been victimized by them. What stinks is with the internet they are hard to track down. So these people will most likely not get any money back.
Liv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 08:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,916
Thanks: 25
Thanked 36 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Hawk
Default

well, if anyone here has had a problem with them, I can always go look for their office here in Atlanta for them.
Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Integrated by BBpixel ©2004-2008, jvbPlugin
Android forums

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53